Skip to content

Compare before you pay

Myend vs LegalZoom, compared side by side.

LegalZoom sells wills in three paid tiers; Myend is free to start and charges at the point you print, export or sign. Here are the prices, what each one includes, and where the money keeps going afterward.

Free to start. Nothing renews unless you choose it.

A last will, one personList prices
Up front5 yearsMyendonce$99$199LegalZoom, Basic Willonce, nothing renews$129$129LegalZoom, Premium Willonce, then $199 a year$299$1,095

Five-year figures assume Myend’s optional $25 a year and the Premium Will’s $199 a year renewal after year one. The Pro Will is $149 once, with its attorney consultation renewing at $25 a month after 30 days. Prices checked September 12, 2026.

Price and billing

What each one costs, and what it buys.

Ten rows separate these two products. These three decide it.

What it costs up front

MyendIncluded or one-time$99 onceComplete plan, Last Will
LegalZoomIncluded or one-time$129 to $299Basic, Pro or Premium Will, once

What it costs every year

MyendIncluded or one-time$25 optionalonly if you want updates and Proof of Life
LegalZoomRenews every year$0 to $199nothing on Basic; Premium renews $199 a year, Pro’s consultation $25 a month

What your family gets after you die

MyendIncluded or one-timeLegacy contactsget in once Proof of Life check-ins lapse
LegalZoomNot offered or not statedNot statedstorage is included, family access is not mentioned
Five years, side by side.

Pick the LegalZoom tier and whether the renewals are kept. Both totals recalculate.

LegalZoom tier
Keep the renewals
  • Myend$199$99 once, plus the optional $25 a year for four more years.
  • LegalZoom$129$129 once. Nothing renews on the Basic Will.

Total over five years, one person, list prices. LegalZoom’s couple prices, $229 to $399, are not counted. Myend has no couples tier, so two people each buy their own $99 plan. With the Basic Will and Myend’s optional updates kept, LegalZoom is the lower total.

In their own words

LegalZoom’s own words about its attorney access, read on September 12, 2026: “With our attorney-supported plans, you can access guidance from highly rated, independent attorneys to help you confidently complete your documents.” Its pricing page also states, “Our last wills were drafted by attorneys and they have been accepted in all 50 states.” Myend states coverage across 51 US jurisdictions, but Louisiana is not yet supported for the Last Will, so Louisiana users go on a waitlist. Check your own state’s signing rules on the will requirements hub before you start either one.

What you get with Myend

Free to start, pay when you need the will.

  1. Free to startYour first directive, your contacts and a 10-document vault, at no cost.
  2. Every directive on StarterAll of them, plus PDF export, for $19 once, no monthly fee.
  3. A Last Will on Complete$99 once for a state-specific will across 51 US jurisdictions, with Louisiana not yet supported.
  4. Family access after you can’t check inLegacy contacts get in only once your Proof of Life check-ins lapse.

Free to start. Nothing renews unless you choose it.

How each one gets paid

Two different billing shapes.

One charges once and lets the renewal be your choice. The other charges once, with add-ons that renew monthly or yearly.

Myend

Paid once, renewal optional
$99once, for the Last Will

Myend has no subscription to join. The Free account carries your first directive, your contacts and a 10-document vault, plus a first conversation with Justine and a small monthly allowance after it. One payment of $19 opens every directive and PDF export, and one payment of $99 opens the Last Will. Renewal is optional: after the first year, $25 a year keeps Proof of Life monitoring, will updates and a fresh Justine allowance running, and stopping it costs you nothing you already made.

LegalZoom

Paid once, add-ons renew
$25/moPro Will attorney consultation, after the first 30 days

LegalZoom charges $129 to $299 once for one person’s will, or $229 to $399 once for two people, split across a Basic, Pro and Premium tier. The Pro tier’s attorney consultation renews at $25 a month once the first 30 days end, and the Premium tier renews at $199 a year once the first year ends, both stated on its own pricing page. LegalZoom’s healthcare directive, the living will, is bundled with the Pro and Premium wills and not with Basic.

Who each one fits

Myend fits you if

Myend fits someone who would rather write everything first and pay later: healthcare, funeral, donor and obituary wishes on one $19 plan, the will on a second $99 payment, and no renewal unless they want one. It also fits anyone who wants a named legacy contact to reach the plan if their check-ins stop.

Who each one fits

LegalZoom fits you if

LegalZoom fits someone who wants an attorney consultation bundled into a single purchase and does not mind a plan that renews monthly or yearly. It also fits someone who specifically wants a couples will, since Myend has no couples plan.

Five providers are priced side by side in how much an online will costs, and the same two-column read against another service is in Myend vs Trust & Will.

Questions people ask

Myend and LegalZoom, answered plainly.

Including the places where LegalZoom is the better fit.

What does a LegalZoom will cost next to Myend?
The Basic Will is $129 once and leaves the living will out. The Pro Will is $149 and the Premium Will is $299, both with the healthcare directive inside. Myend asks $19 once for every directive, the healthcare one included, and $99 once for the Last Will, so the order you buy in changes the total.
Does LegalZoom offer attorney support?
Yes. It calls them attorney-supported plans and, in its own words read on September 12, 2026, says you can access guidance from independent attorneys while you complete your documents. Its Pro Will bundles that consultation, which renews at $25 a month once the first 30 days end. Myend sells no attorney access and is not a law firm.
Does either one sell a plan for two people?
LegalZoom prices its Basic, Pro and Premium wills for a couple as well, from $229 to $399 once. Myend has no couples tier at all. Two people open two accounts and each pay the same $19 or $99, which is the number to compare against LegalZoom’s couple price rather than its single one.
Which states does each one cover?
LegalZoom states on its own page that its estate planning documents have been accepted in all 50 states and that attorneys drafted its last wills. Myend states coverage across all 51 US jurisdictions, which counts the District of Columbia, though the Last Will is not yet available in Louisiana and Louisiana users are put on a waitlist.
Who gets my Myend plan if my check-ins stop?
The legacy contact you name, and nobody sooner. Proof of Life asks you to confirm you are fine on your own schedule, missed check-ins bring reminders first, and only after they lapse does that contact receive a free account limited to finalized directives, goodbye messages, your contact list and shared vault items.
Does LegalZoom say what happens to my documents after I die?
It lists secure online document storage inside every tier. What it does not say, on either the pricing page or the will page read on September 12, 2026, is whether an executor or a relative can open that storage after your death, so treat family access there as an open question until they answer it.

Compare the numbers, then start free.

Writing costs nothing: your first directive, your contacts and a 10-document vault. Pay $19 once when you want every directive and PDF export, $99 once when you want the Last Will.

Free to start. Nothing renews unless you choose it.